Buffy The Vampire Slayer (Season 2) DVD Review

The brainchild of writer Joss Whedon, Buffy The Vampire Slayer originally entered American pop culture as a full-length feature film, starring Kristy Swanson, in 1992. But creator Whedon felt that the project never quite did justice to the full scope of his vision, so he managed turn the film into a television series in 1997. The result of Whedon’s increased artistic freedom is a series that has enjoyed both critical acclaim and audience notoriety. Nominated for 14 Emmy’s during its seven year run, the show managed to win only two (both in 1998 for Outstanding Makeup and Outstanding Music Composition in a television series). Yet, the true success for Buffy The Vampire Slayer is indicated by the massive success of the show’s long run, strong DVD sales, and the overwhelming success of the series spin-off Angel

Sarah Michelle Gellar plays the title role of Buffy Anne Summers, a teenage girl who stands alone among her generation as the “chosen one” able to “stand against vampires, demons, and the forces of darkness. She is the Slayer” But Buffy is not alone in fulfilling her destiny as a slayer of vampires. She also receives help from the high school librarian, Rupert Giles (Anthony Stewart Head), who is a Watcher – the one chosen to train and guide slayers on their developmental path. In addition, new friends Willow Rosenberg (Alyson Hannigan – of American Pie fame) and Xander Harris (Nicholas Brendon) quickly uncover the truth of Buffy’s destiny, and they often aid her in defending the world against evil forces

The Buffy the Vampire Slayer (Season 2) DVD offers a number of exciting episodes including the season premiere “When She was Bad” in which Buffy returns to Sunnydale following her summer vacation (having defeated the Master), but much to the chagrin of her friends, Buffy’s personality has drastically changed. Her cold demeanor grows worse when she discovers the remaining vampires in Sunnydale are planning to resurrect the Master Other notable episodes from Season 2 include “Inca Mummy Girl” in which a local museum mummy is accidentally summoned to life with the goal of destroying lives, and “The Dark Age” in which the mysterious past of Rupert Giles is revealed to have included witchcraft and a summoned demon intent on killing him and his friend

Below is a list of episodes included on the Buffy the Vampire Slayer (Season 2) DVD:

Episode 13 (When She was Bad) Air Date: 09-15-1997

Episode 14 (Some Assembly Required) Air Date: 09-22-1997

Episode 15 (School Hard) Air Date: 09-29-1997

Episode 16 (Inca Mummy Girl) Air Date: 10-06-1997

Episode 17 (Reptile Boy) Air Date: 10-13-1997

Episode 18 (Halloween) Air Date: 10-27-1997

Episode 19 (Lie to Me) Air Date: 11-03-1997

Episode 20 (The Dark Age) Air Date: 11-10-1997

Episode 21 (What’s My Line? Part 1) Air Date: 11-17-1997

Episode 22 (What’s My Line? Part 2) Air Date: 11-24-1997

Episode 23 (Ted) Air Date: 12-08-1997

Episode 24 (Bad Eggs) Air Date: 01-12-1998

Episode 25 (Surprise) Air Date: 01-19-1998

Episode 26 (Innocence) Air Date: 01-20-1998

Episode 27 (Phases) Air Date: 01-27-1998

Episode 28 (Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered) Air Date: 02-10-1998

Episode 29 (Passion) Air Date: 02-24-1998

Episode 30 (Killed by Death) Air Date: 03-03-1998

Episode 31 (I Only Have Eyes for You) Air Date: 04-28-1998

Episode 32 (Go Fish) Air Date: 05-05-1998

Episode 33 (Becoming: Part 1) Air Date: 05-12-1998

Episode 34 (Becoming: Part 2) Air Date: 05-19-1998

About the Author

Britt Gillette is author of The DVD Report, a movie review site where you can find more reviews like this one of the Buffy The Vampire Slayer (Season 2) DVD Review.

This entry was posted in Movies In Theaters. Bookmark the permalink.