Gilligan’s Island (Season 3) DVD Review

Nominated for zero Emmys in its short three-season stint, Gilligan’s Island nonetheless has carved itself a notable niche in the television hall of fame.

Gilligan’s Island follows the adventures of a tour group of varying personalities whose boat, the SS Minnow, falls victim to a torrential rain storm during a three hour tour. Shipwrecked upon a deserted Pacific island, the seven guests and crew spend their days and nights trying to escape the island or be rescued by passersby. In addition to Gilligan (Bob Denver) who is the SS Minnow’s first mate, the island plays host to the Skipper (Alan Hale, Jr.), millionaire couple Thurston (Jim Backus) and Eunice Howell (Natalie Schafer), college professor Roy Hinkley (Russell Johnson), movie star Ginger Grant (Tina Louise), and Mary Ann Summers (Dawn Wells). Most every episode revolves around the group’s feeble attempts to escape the island, undertakings usually thwarted and foiled by Gilligan’s trademark buffoonery

The Gilligan’s Island (Season 3) DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere “Up at Bat” in which a bat bites Gilligan, causing him to have a nightmare in which he’s transformed into a vampire. But the professor is a bat aficionado, and he’s able to identify the bat as a common fruit bat instead of the vampire bat Gilligan fears Other notable episodes from Season 3 include “Ring Around Gilligan” in which a mad scientist lands on the island and uses mysterious hypnotic rings to make the group do his bidding, and “Gilligan’s Personal Magnetism” in which lightning strikes Gilligan while he’s bowling, prompting the bowling ball to become physically attached to his hand

Below is a list of episodes included on the Gilligan’s Island (Season 3) DVD:

Episode 69 (Up at Bat) Air Date: 09-12-1966

Episode 70 (Gilligan vs. Gilligan) Air Date: 09-19-1966

Episode 71 (Pass the Vegetables, Please) Air Date: 09-26-1966

Episode 72 (The Producer) Air Date: 10-03-1966

Episode 73 (Voodoo) Air Date: 10-10-1966

Episode 74 (Where There’s a Will) Air Date: 10-17-1966

Episode 75 (Man with a Net) Air Date: 10-24-1966

Episode 76 (Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow) Air Date: 10-31-1966

Episode 77 (Ring Around Gilligan) Air Date: 11-07-1966

Episode 78 (Topsy-Turvy) Air Date: 11-14-1966

Episode 79 (The Invasion) Air Date: 11-21-1966

Episode 80 (The Kidnapper) Air Date: 11-28-1966

Episode 81 (And Then There Were None) Air Date: 12-05-1966

Episode 82 (All About Eva) Air Date: 12-12-1966

Episode 83 (Gilligan Goes Gung-Ho) Air Date: 12-26-1966

Episode 84 (Take a Dare) Air Date: 01-02-1967

Episode 85 (Court-Martial) Air Date: 01-09-1967

Episode 86 (The Hunter) Air Date: 01-16-1967

Episode 87 (Lovey’s Secret Admirer) Air Date: 01-23-1967

Episode 88 (Our Vines Have Tender Apes) Air Date: 01-30-1967

Episode 89 (Gilligan’s Personal Magnetism) Air Date: 02-06-1967

Episode 90 (Splashdown) Air Date: 02-20-1967

Episode 91 (High Man on the Totem Pole) Air Date: 02-27-1967

Episode 92 (The Second Ginger Grant) Air Date: 03-06-1967

Episode 93 (The Secret of Gilligan’s Island) Air Date: 03-13-1967

Episode 94 (Slave Girl) Air Date: 03-20-1967

Episode 95 (It’s a Bird, It’s a Plane) Air Date: 03-27-1967

Episode 96 (The Pigeon) Air Date: 04-03-1967

Episode 97 (Bang! Bang! Bang!) Air Date: 04-10-1967

Episode 98 (Gilligan, the Goddess) Air Date: 04-17-1967

About the Author

Britt Gillette is author of The DVD Report, a movie review site where you can find more reviews like this one of the Gilligan’s Island (Season 3) DVD Review.

Posted in Movies In Theaters | Leave a comment